The exhibition “Andrea Palladio 1508-1580” is supported by the Embassy of Italy in Ireland, the Italian Cultural Institute, Dublin City Council and held in the Irish Architectural Archive gallery. It is an extension of the international exhibition “Palladio 500 Years” and presents a comprehensive picture of his work and features photographs of some of Palladio’s most significant buildings in the Veneto region.
An annotated version of Vitruvius’ De Architectura published in 1567 and illustrated by Palladio is also featured, along with Palladio’s ‘’The Four Books of Architecture’’ which includes a 1742 translation by Giacomo Leoni. Palladio drew inspiration from surviving Roman buildings, Roman authors (especially the architect Vitruvius) and Italian Renaissance architects. However, The Four Books of Architecture provided systematic rules for planning buildings which were creative and unique. Palladio’s villa style is based on details applied to a development of structural system built of bricks.
Dublin architect James Wyatt, who built the Residence of the Ambassador of Italy in Lucan, clearly followed Palladio’s patterns. Ireland can also claim, in the facade of the Provost’s House, Trinity College Dublin, the only surviving example of a building erected to a design by Palladio outside his native Italy.
The exhibition runs until the end of May 2010 and seeks to acknowledge the significant influence Palladio had on later styles of architecture throughout the world.
For more information about the architect Palladio, see these links:
Palladio’s urban buildings, as well as his villas, scattered throughout the Veneto region, had a decisive influence on the development of architecture
Fascimile of the ‘’The Four Books of Architecture’’
More information about the architect Palladio in Dublin and other places in Ireland